What Was The Highlight Of Your Teenage Years?

This is going to be a very emotional post and I feel weird about it.

I’m turning 14 in less than a month. And I’m really sad about it.

It doesn’t sound scary. But It’s a pretty big deal.

Shut up.

I’m still getting used to the fact that I’m 13, to be honest. And now suddenly I’m about to become a year older. Great.

The thing is, being 13 feels like you have your WHOLE life ahead of you. Being 13 means you have all your teenage years stretching out in front of you, ready to be relished and treasured and lived. And those years are always there. Just ahead. Waiting to be enjoyed. You can plan for them and dream about them and look forward to them.

But now, they’re not just waiting there, it feels like they’re moving.

I know this sounds dumb to most people. You’re going to be 14! That’s a year closer to 18! How exciting! Or… it’s just a year. No big deal.

But really, it’s one year closer to old age as well. Which is pretty freaky. And all the, ‘Just a year’s add up to decades. It feels like I’ve run out of buffer time. When I was younger, I could do what I wanted, and it wouldn’t necessarily affect the future so much. Because there was always time, wasn’t there? I wasn’t yet a teenager. But now, I feel like whatever I do is going to affect the future. I’m very scared of time running out! I want to live a fully as possible, in the moment.

I really want to be young for as long as possible. What’s weird is that when I was younger, it seemed like it would be AGES till I turned ten. Ten was huge. Big girls were ten! And now I’m 13! It feels like only four seconds have passed since then. So I guess it could turn out like that with adulthood. You think that you have infinite youth and you waste your time… and in the blink (182?) of an eye, it’s gone. I know I only have this one life to live as me, and how vital it is to savour every moment of it.

I’m a bit scared.

take-my-hand-off-to-never-never-land

If you think about it, birthdays seem quite arbitrary. Why celebrate your age? What’s the meaning of it? Why every 365 days? Why don’t we celebrate half-years? Imagine if we celebrated turning 14-and-a-half instead of turning 14! Well really… what difference would it make? I’ve met people who don’t know how old they are and they don’t really care. Because to be honest, knowing your exact age isn’t really important in day-to-day life.

Still, my birthday reminds me that I’m getting older. Slowly, sure, but it’s happening. It’s good to have a marking point to reflect on it. And it’s still scary.

What was the highlight of your teenage years? Any tips for me? πŸ™‚Β I love it when people reply. Please comment?

16 thoughts on “What Was The Highlight Of Your Teenage Years?

  1. Probably my best memeories of my teenage years are the concerts i was able to see in the late 80’s and early 90’s.

    I got ot to see Metallica when i was 13 with Van Halan, The Scropions, and Dokken. then again a year later on the ‘…And Justice For All’ tour when i was 14. then a couple of years later i got to see them two more times, once by themselves, and then again with Gun ‘N Roses and Faith No More.

    I got to see Alice in Chains open up for Anthrax, Megadeth and Slayer and nobody knew who they were.

    Slayers set for that show was amazing. It was an out door venue that had a bunch of dirt and gravel in front of the stage. When Slayer opened up with ‘Hell Await the crowd went nuts, and a huge cloud of dust rose above the crowd, and you couldn;t see the band for their entire set. So the first time I saw Slayer, i didn’t actually see them, but I could hear them, and they were awesome.

    When i was 17 I got see White Zombie open up for Testament when they were nobody. Then less than a month later i got to see White Zombie again opening opening for Pantera on teh ‘Vulgar Display of Power’ tour. The show was on my 18th birthday.

    I could go on forever with these. I was pretty lucky and got to see a bunch opf coll bands during my teenage years. But then again, i got to see even a whole bunch more through out my 20’s and 30’s too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That sounds amazing. Thank you so much for commenting, and for being the first to comment! That’s SO COOL that you got to see those bands πŸ™‚ That’s like my dream! I haven’t been to a single gig in my life… so far. But I shall. Obviously I want to see all my favourite bands live (Well, the ones that are still together/alive) That’s kind of what I’m looking forward to most.

      It must feel good knowing a band before they get famous πŸ™‚ I wanna do that haha. Or be in a band, hehehehe.

      Thank you.

      Like

      • I just read my comment, and noticed it was riddled with misspellings, typos, and missing words. I guess I should have proof read it a little better. Sorry about that.

        Anyway you’re welcome. I always have fun talking about shows I’ve seen, which I’m sure you’ve noticed if you’ve read any of my blog posts.

        You might not be able to see every band you want through out your life, but if I remember correctly, you live in London, and everyone plays London. So I feel pretty confident saying that you’ll have plenty of opportunities to most of your favorite bands. And you have your whole life ahead of you for going to gigs. Don’t worry if you don’t get to see all of them right away. I’ve been a huge Iron Maiden fan for nearly 30 years now, and I only just got to see them for the first time two years ago. Same thing with KISS. They were the first band I obsessed over when I was in 5th and 6th grade. My second concert ever was them and Ted Nugent in 1998, with out make up. I didn’t get to see them with make up until two weeks ago, and it was awesome.

        In this day and age where anybody can get music anywhere they want with out paying for it, bands have to tour more in order to make a living. So you’ll have even more opportunities to see many of your favorite bands than I did growing up in the 80’s.

        And with your own music, stick with it, and put in the hours. Despite popular belief, nobody is born a virtuoso on the guitar. All the best musicians you know about put in hours and hours of dedication to practicing their instrument years before you ever heard about them. So put in the hours, suffer through the boring scales impossible chord progression exercises. In time you’ll get better, it’ll be a lot more enjoyable, and you’ll own that annoying F chord πŸ™‚

        I’d also say learn as much about music and different kinds of music as you can. Don’t limit yourself to one or two genre’s or time periods. So much incredible music has been created just in the last hundred years, it’s mind boggling. Watch every documentary you can about music, even if it’s a band or genre you don’t care for. You’ll learn something from it. Read the artist biography’s, read the books about the history of the blues, jazz, heavy metal, or what ever you can get your hands on. The more and understand about different styles of music and how it’s created and how it works. The better of a musician you’ll be.

        That goes for any form of artistic expression, the more you know about different things, the better and more interesting your own writing and music will be.

        As far advice for navigating your way through your teenage years goes, I’m not too sure what I can tell you given the differences in our ages, the culture I grew up in, and the culture you’re growing up in, and the fact the world is vastly different now than it was 25 year ago when I entered my teenage years. But I’ll share a quote from a book I read recently, The Four Agreements by Miguel Ruiz, that I think is pretty good life advice in general:

        β€œ1. Be Impeccable with your Word: Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the Word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your Word in the direction of truth and love.
        2. Don’t Take Anything Personally
        Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering.
        3. Don’t Make Assumptions
        Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.
        4. Always Do Your Best
        Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are healthy as opposed to sick. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse, and regret.”

        Ok, I think I’ve babbled enough for one day. Enjoy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my god!! THANK YOU SO MUCH! I only saw your reply recently because I was away for a few days, so I wasn’t ignoring you πŸ™‚

        Haha, I didn’t really notice the typos etc. before, so no need to proof read πŸ™‚

        Anyway, that is EXCELLENT advice. I will do what you said – and watch as many music documentaries as possible, that was a good one. And read loads of books hehe. I’ll also try to practice the musical instruments I’m learning WAY MORE – especially since because that’s something that I’m finding really difficult at the moment (That F chord :/ urgh!) You’ve REALLY encouraged me!

        Yup, London is correct; you’re right, probably all bands tour here at some point in their career so that’s something to look forward to one day (both seeing the bands AND touring myself haha XD JK). Hopefully I will get to see Maiden at some point…

        Your advice is invaluable! Seriously, thank you SO much. And the four agreements are awesome life advice. No. 2 is the best. You have no idea how much everything you said means to me!

        Have a good day. ily πŸ˜›

        Like

  2. I’m still in my teens, but my advice is to not take yourself to seriously – a lot of girls my age and younger like to cake on their makeup, and act like their 18, and the next thing they know they’re just filled with regret. Just enjoy being the age you are, and don’t wish you were older/younger. Just enjoy the now – that’s another tip πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh you are totally right – every birthday gets a little more stressful. I’m going to be 17 in October and I am not at all ready. I even don’t think I was ready turn 16. It’s terrifying, because you’re inching that much closer to having to worry about everything for yourself…independence is very appealing to me, but figuring everything out is not something I’m looking forward to. I don’t think I’ve had a highlight of my teenage years…every year just brings a whole new stage of your life.
    Don’t worry, though, 14 isn’t too bad. I know what you mean about turning 14 though. I moved 1000 miles across the country the summer before I turned 14 so when my birthday came around it felt like a whole totally new life. I must say, I didn’t enjoy that year but I say that most of my friends say 8th grade/age fourteen was their favourite. So I’m just weird.

    And about celebrating birthdays…maybe we do it to convince ourselves that getting old is more of an exciting experience than a terrifying or disappointing prospect

    Like

    • Amendment to previous comment *but when I say that [i didn’t enjoy being 14] most of my friends say it was their favourite year.
      And I’m not just saying that, they really all do

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my gosh, I feel like you totally get what I was saying!! Thank you πŸ™‚ Thank you so much. It’s good to hear from you. I can’t imagine what it’s like to turn 16 or seventeen… but those years are close so I will know in a while… :/ If only we could be frozen at our current ages, right? I think you’re right about why we celebrate our birthdays. Well, anyway, happy birthday!! πŸ™‚ oxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

