What’s It Like Being Female?

I can only answer this question with what being female means to ME because I don’t know for certain how other girls find it… These are my personal views. However, I do reckon a substantial amount of other girls must feel the same way about SOME of these things.

Here’s a question – How do females view males?

I think that girls look up to men more than boys look up to women. Obviously, not ALWAYS… but in most cases. Maybe part of the reason for this is that men seem confident, and in a way… content all the time. It sounds funny to say that, but they do seem happier. They seem more powerful as well… I don’t just mean that they have power over women, or even each other. I guess I mean that men seem in control of their emotions. And objectives. Also, it seems that men DO have more power than women. Not because they are better, but because people tend to view them as stronger.

Here’s something I’ve noticed in books, on TV AND in real life: Girls seem to care about getting a boyfriend more than boys care about getting a girlfriend? Seriously. For a lot of girls having a boyfriend is a BIG deal. It’s partly because it’s a status symbol; it shows that they are ‘good enough to be liked by the opposite sex.’ Also because they genuinely care about male attention. I mean, they SERIOUSLY care a lot about the other boys liking them, whereas to guys having a girlfriend doesn’t seem EXTRAORDINARY… But I’m not a guy, so I don’t know for SURE do I?

Sometimes I feel jealous of males. Really jealous. It’s mainly because they always seem confident and at ease, and because people appear to have more respect for them. I wish when I became famous, boys would up to me the same way that girls look up to guys. But it doesn’t work like that, does it? Like, when a guy is popular or famous he gets crowds of screaming girls declaring their love for him. Whereas if that happened to a girl she’d be at risk of people… crossing boundaries. And being female, you tend to worry a lot about guys molesting you :/

Something good about being female is that there’s no-one telling you to man up. You’re not expected to be strong all the time, or to be good at sports. And it’s okay to cry. The responsibility isn’t on you to ask a guy out or propose to him. It’s unfair towards males. I also think you shouldn’t tell a guy to man up, or to expect him to take the initiative. Basically, in an ideal world, both sexes would have equal responsibility.

Now if you’re talking about being female, mentioning periods at some point is inevitable. They are not pleasant. Stomach cramps are terrible. Many claim that chocolate is the cure.

Chocolate! For some reason lots of females seem to really like chocolate… which I didn’t get for a long time. It just seemed like an ordinary food. But I googled it and now I understand. I wrote a post about it: Why Do Women Crave Chocolate?

Moving on 🙂

I think interaction between females is very different from interaction between males. Girls have all these, “Secrets,” and fusses. Whereas when I see guys talking to each other they seem more chilled together. A funny thing is, I can’t talk to males the way they talk to each other. For example, they find it weird when I try to do the bro-hug thing. And they don’t treat me how they’d treat a male, you know what I mean? I kind of feel left out.

Obviously, girls are also expected to look good, dress well etc. But I won’t go into detail with that because most people have heard people talking about that already. However, I will say that I hate seeing tweets that say things like “This is how I want to look” or, “I want a thigh gap,” with a picture like this attached:

irritating tweets

Or even worse (Warning):

 

more irritating tweets

 

 

I don’t need to say more about that.

Are you male or female? If you’re female, do you agree with what I said in this post or is it BS? Do you have more to add? And if you’re male, how do you see females? What is it like being male? Does everything I’ve just written sound inaccurate?
I want to hear from you! Comment?

9 thoughts on “What’s It Like Being Female?

  1. You are right about the GF/BF thing. As a young male I don’t want a GF at the moment. I prefer to have “friends” at this point in my life. I also don’t think guys worry about their looks as much as girls do. I have never worried about it. Maybe if I was overweight or anorexic skinny it would be a different story.

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting 🙂 Yeah, I think you’re right about guys not worrying about their looks as much as girls do. I mean, I wouldn’t consider myself to be VAIN exactly, but I fuss about looking good more than guys do. I do wonder what it’s like to be free of caring about how you look. It must be great but I guess it’s my fault for letting myself get sucked into that whole, “I’m female, I must look perfect all the time” etc. thing. Really, it’s the individual’s choice to break out of the mould but it’s hard. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Umm yes. I agree with you girl, just one thing about the looks… sometimes girls are way too lazy to dress nicely and guys are sometimes way too vain. Maybe even more than girls. But well, everyone’s different right? That’s what’s makes this interesting lol

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was a really interesting read, and it’s interesting to just hear a true and honest view about how girls think. There are a few things I would say though, guys can be superficial just as much as girls can, but I think there are probably more guys in that category. And this is just my opinion, but personality, a sense of humour, and confidence is a lot more attractive than pure looks. But that’s the difference between a good guy and a bad guy. At the end of the day, be yourself and do whatever makes you happy. The status symbol, all the worrying about finding a bf etc, will just seem silly in 10 years…

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you very much for reading and commenting! It means a lot to me. That’s true that guys can be just as superficial as girls. But I think that girls are more likely to become obsessive about it. Well, it all depends on the individual, which is what you were saying I guess.

      Sorry it took me so long to reply to your comment! Thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog.

      Like

  4. “girls look up to men more than boys look up to women” Interesting. Think you’re right. LOL I mention some of the things you talk about in the post that’s coming down the pike. =)

    I’ve actually been thinking about power between the genders. I think women have a LOT of power over men, with not only the sexual draw but romantically and then in the deep of committed love. But of course we are vulnerable in so many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post and for commenting! That’s interesting what you say about women having a lot of power over men; I’d never thought about that before, I guess because being female I tend to notice the power that men have over women more than the other way round 🙂 I think that that works both ways! Good point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

