My Fourth Liebster Award

A thank you to Bellanoctis for nominating me for the Liebster Award! I’ve taken so long to post this award on my blog that she’s probably forgotten about it >.< But anyway, thank you! I promise that I wrote this post a while ago, so it wasn’t that I was too lazy to write it all that time, I just hadn’t posted it! It’s been sitting around on my laptop for ages. I just want to quickly say, I really like Bellanoctis’ blog; she posts, oh, such beautiful poems and photographs – I really wish mine were as good as hers. I think her blog deserves a checking-out from you 🙂

This Liebster award is a bit different from the usual one. Here are the rules:
1) Thank the person who gave you the award.
2) Answer 11 questions. Either the same ones I answered, or your own.
3) Nominate 10 other blogs and let them know. Strictly speaking, they should have fewer than 200 followers. But, you know, in practice it can be kinda hard to find blogs within that category. So a little bit over 200 is fine 🙂

My questions are the same ones Bellanoctis answered. Here goes:

1- Why did you start a blog?

I wanted a space to talk about my thoughts, ideas and (that very commonly used blogging word) MUSINGS. A place where people would read and possibly be interested in what I had to say. I especially liked the idea that I might get comments. More about that in the answer to question three! Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that I LOVE writing.

2- Talk a little bit about your passions?

Listening to music is my main passion XD. I like the idea that one day I might be able to make my own. I’m learning guitar, drum kit and some djembe and dun dun. Ideally I would be a musician – I can imagine music-making to be my main passion of the future, but for now, listening will have to do. Just till I get better! Then I can enjoy making my own. Oh, and guys, that reminds me – can I ask you something? A favour? Remind me to practice guitar. Please. I should practice every day but I forget. It is the same with drum kit and djembe (I don’t have a dun dun at home, so no pressure there, phew.) But please, I’d really appreciate it if you could comment reminding me to practice guitar, it would really encourage me. If I don’t practice then I’ll forget everything. As you know, I have a serious procrastination issue. Something else I enjoy, as you may have guessed, is writing. And blogging, of course 🙂 I will even go so far as to consider blogging a passion. I am passionate about blogging. There you go!

3- How useful do you think comments and interactions are for a blogger and in what way?

For me they are pivotal 🙂 I find comments massively encouraging, even if they are not “praising” my writing. I just like the fact that someone has read my post and bothered enough to share their point of view about something I’ve mentioned. My posts are my thoughts and having anyone hear and acknowledge them is satisfying. It means a lot to me when somebody follows me. I always check out the blogs of people who check out mine, and I usually “like” and comment on their posts – obviously only on the ones that I actually like, though, otherwise the meaning would be lost and it would become trivial. “Liking” someone’s post is a way of saying “I hear your thoughts. I understand. Thank you”. Commenting goes a step further. Since I enjoy people’s feedback I think it is only fair to reciprocate; WordPress is a community and it would feel wrong to receive without giving. Furthermore, I thoroughly enjoy reading other people’s blogs. I always learn something! I love it when people put their thoughts out there for others to read. And of course, I want to let bloggers know when I appreciate what they’ve written, so I “like” and comment. I think the main purpose feedback serves is encouragement.

4- What do you talk about on your blog?

I write about my opinions, experiences and thoughts. I write about my feelings and my life. I write about my fears and frustrations. I write about aspirations, fantasies and books. I write about bucket lists, about Frankenstein, about tasseled black loafers and about music. About soaking blue pyjamas and vampires. About immortality, plans for the future and the Gothic. I write about what it is like to be a young homeschooled British female with a love for writing and rock music. Basically, my blog is the ultimate place to embarrass myself online. I can humiliate myself in one sentence over here.

5- Have you made friendships with other bloggers?

I love the way that most of the bloggers I follow are also following me, meaning we read and comment on each others posts. It is cool how you can get to know about someone through reading their blog and talking in the comments section. The feeling of familiarity is cool.

6- Have you ever known each other personally? [I.e. met in real life?]

Never! At least, not so far!

7- How do you imagine your blog in 2 years?

Ideally, it would be a thriving reflection of mine and other people’s thoughts, a place anyone could come to learn something, to hear about different opinions and to share their own. It would provoke thought and encourage introspection, creativity and discussion. It would have thousands of followers and be well known among WordPress devotees. It would hopefully offer some entertainment. People would look forward to reading my next posts.

8- Would you like to see it grow/change and in what way?

Since the beginning I’ve been very interested in posting some tutorials, but I’ve never got round to that. I’m not sure whether this idea is something that will be realized. If it is, the tutorials I post will be relating to art and DIY projects. I’m also interested in writing more about music, with possible album reviews. Having more readers would be cool as well. I wish I could post every day.

9- What is the thing you know how to do best?

Procrastinate. Really, in order of best first:

– Breathe
– Empathize
– Listen to music
– Fall asleep on public transport
– Drink excessive amounts of tea
– Write
– Play drum kit
– Play guitar

10- How much time do you dedicate to your blog?

There have been times when I’ve been obsessed with my blog, checking for updates every hour. Now, I try to write a post whenever I can, really, which unfortunately is not as often as I would like. I wish I could be like DotedOn and write a blog post every day. I also wish I could reply to comments more quickly.

11- Where do your posts come from? [Ideas, inspiration, etc?]

Whatever I’m currently thinking a lot about, that I reckon will interest other people as well. Books I’ve recently read, concepts that have been hanging around my mind. Things I’m frustrated with. Things I’ve done recently, or things that have happened to me. Sometimes I write fun lists. Sometimes I base my posts off a question.

Guys, you don’t have to accept this award if you’re busy or don’t feel like it. If that’s the case, it’s totally fine and I understand. Otherwise, I look forward to reading your posts!

In other news, I am off to a Beltane festival for the weekend; I am very much looking forward to it, but according to a friend of my parents’ (who claims he’s been), they get naked and cover themselves in blue paint there… Wish me luck.

I’ll leave you with a track from a splendid band I’ve been listening a lot lately. Folks, this is Beltane by Inkubus Sukkubus:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvK5xczqVic
11 thoughts on “My Fourth Liebster Award

  1. I agree with the comment thing. I love seeing people comment on my posts ~ it makes me feel happy. I also love commenting on others’ posts because it also makes me feel happy. I am also the kind of person that checks out blogs that follow me. It’s cool to find out if we have anything in common and just to creep around and hopefully find a new blog to follow!

    Like

  2. I wondered where you’d gone! Have been thinking on and off about your post about things I fear … sort of wanting to write a post about it, but never quite getting there. You get me thinking!

    Congratulations on yet another Liebster. I enjoyed reading your answers to questions … usually I don’t, so well done! Did you see I eventually got around to acknowledging the award you gave me? I didn’t do it “right” … but I did it my way, which is the best I can ever do… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

