I Am Writing A Book

Guess what? I’m finally writing a book. I’ve wanted to do this since I was a child. It was not a thing I properly imagined myself sitting down and doing; it was more of a dream projected into the distant future. But as we both know, there is no such thing as the distant future. There is only now. You cannot leave something up to your future self to complete. If you try to do that, the thing will not get done.

The reason I am telling you is because I want to put pressure on myself to finish the book. I don’t want to finish it in ten year’s time. I want to finish it soon. My thinking is that, by telling you that I am writing a book, I am lessening my ability to back out of it. We all know how easily embarrassed I get. That’s by things like getting a band member’s name wrong or kissing someone on the right cheek when they’re expecting a kiss on the left. So now, imagine if I publicly state that I’m fulfilling my dream of writing a book, full of confidence, and then don’t go through with it? That’s more than embarrassing. That’s kind of humiliating. I would feel like even more of a failure if that happened, especially since writing a book is one of the biggest items on my bucket list.

You know what? I think I’m going to Tweet that I’m writing a book as well. Then it will be even more embarrassing if I don’t complete it. How about I Tweet, “I AM WRITING A BOOK. IT WILL BE FINISHED ONE DAY. SOON.”? Do you think I should do that? Is that going overboard a bit? You know what, I’m just going to Tweet it. And if you, yes you there reading this right now, Retweet it, I will have no choice but to go through with the book. The more people that Retweet, the sooner it’s likely to get done.

There.

What have you always wanted to do, and how are you working towards it? šŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “I Am Writing A Book

  1. Congratulations on this first step in your journey! I wish you the best of luck. šŸ™‚

    Also, I think I successfully reTweeted your Tweet. I’m @G360LIVE on Twitter.

    Finally, I have to say that telling people that you’re writing a novel does help. However, if there’s any specific bit of motivation that will push you to write as much as you can, that would be a great help. Back when I told a number of people that I was writing a novel, I still managed to procrastinate and not really want to keep writing. But when this totally cute girl began talking to me and showed interest in my writing and that’s when I wrote like mad in an attempt to impress her. I don’t think I did, though, as she hasn’t talked to me since I sent her a copy of my first revision. Maybe she just hated it and didn’t have the heart to tell me. I don’t know. Anyway, having someone in my mind who I wanted to finish my novel for made an impact on my desire to finish it. So if there’s someone you want to write your novel for, even if he/she doesn’t know it, that might help you in terms of motivation.

    By the way, I don’t know if you’ve been reading what I’ve been posting lately, but I wrote a piece called “26 Things I Learned About Writing A Novel While Writing A Novel.” If you haven’t read it, and are interested, you can find it at this link: https://gabriel360live.wordpress.com/2015/10/26/26-things-i-learned-about-writing-a-novel-while-writing-a-novel/

    Best of luck again! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much.
      Maybe she hasn’t got round to reading your book yet and doesn’t want to reply till she has? šŸ™‚ Good point that it helps to keep someone in mind while writing! From the description you wrote in one of the comments on your blog, your book sounds really, really good and like the kind of thing I’d enjoy reading. BTW I’m also doing a sci-fi-ish book but it’s so difficult because I keep subconsciously stealing big ideas from other authors and movies and thinking I’ve come up with a great, really original idea! Oh, the disappointment when I realise it isn’t mine.
      Good luck with the rest of your trilogy!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! šŸ™‚

        By the way, if you’d like a pdf copy of my first book in its current form, send me an email and I’ll send you the pdf. If you’re not interested, it’s fine. My feelings are not hurt. Haha.

        Also, if you find yourself copying ideas, something you may want to try is to take those ideas and spin them in some way or somehow point out in the book that it’s a stolen idea (make a comedic moment out of it). Or you can do the complete opposite of that idea and see where that takes you. Whichever way your story goes, good luck with it. šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would indeed like a pdf! Although I definitely won’t get round to reading it soon as I have to write my book and not get distracted, and also because I might accidentally steal one of your ideas and that would be really embarrassing. Will send you that e-mail.
        Thanks for the tips for what to do with accidentally stolen ideas!!
        Have a good… evening? šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: thisizapen

Leave a Reply

